Flashback Friday: April 23rd – May 6th

Hi guys – two quick things. First, if you haven’t checked out Wednesday’s post yet, go check it out. I talked about some new things I want to do with the blog and how you can help support that. If you could fill out the Google Form that’s linked in there, I’d appreciate it. Thanks to everyone that’s filled it out already!

Secondly, Columbia’s heading to California for the two weeks prior to IRAs to train before the regatta. (We fly out on May 18th.) We’re rowing out of River City and are currently on the hunt for some launches (preferably wakeless) to rent while we’re there. I’m not super familiar with all the teams in that area (or the Bay area in general) but if you row or cox for one of them, could you email me your coach’s contact info so I can get in touch with them? Or if anybody knows of any sailing or community boating centers that might have launches too, that’d be helpful. The only one I know of is Sac State Aquatic Center. Thanks guys!

ONE YEAR AGO
Words. Wise words as we come into Sprints, IRAs, NCAAs, etc.

Race skills: Coxing from behind

Getting off the line with world-class speed Lots of good info from Bryan Volpenhein.

QOTD: Hi!:) So, I have been quite “upset” with my boat. You see, I’m a very competitive coxswain but half of my boat is … not, you could say. Anyways, I want to share my feelings and tell them that I leave practice feeling pissy because of their lack of motivation and the fact that it was such a horrible practice. But I also don’t want to add drama and tension in the boat. I’m that always nice, sometimes getting pushed over, type of coxswain but I have been learning to stand up and put them back in line but it always makes me feel guilty and thus kind of “sucking up” (hugging them, compliments) to the rowers. I want to be feared AND loved but I just can’t balance it out. There’s also a few girls who always WHINE and COMPLAIN every single time we do workouts. I just want to shut her up and tell her to suck it up. But my mind tells me no and just ignore it. Any advice? I so need it! Thanks!

TWO YEARS AGO
VOTW: How to make minor shell repairs

QOTD: How can I get back my passion for rowing? It used to be my life and there was nothing else I wanted to do. At 15/16 I wanted nothing more than to be in the position I’m in now. Recently though I’ve been finding myself falling out of love with it, I even thought the other day I can’t wait for the season to be over. I don’t know if it’s the negativity on my team becoming contagious or what but I hate myself for it.

QOTD: Hi! First off, your blog is so helpful! I’m finishing off my novice year as a rower this spring, but I am switching to coxing full time for the fall season. Do I get another novice year as a coxswain too? Second, my coach told me to only touch the rudder when the blades are in the water, and I understand that. But does that mean that I touch it for the drive, put it to straight on the recovery, and then touch it again on the drive? Or should I only touch it once on the drive and that should be enough? Thanks!

Words.

THREE YEARS AGO
QOTD: So, I have been coxing for two years, and really enjoy races. However as it’s regatta season coming up, I need a bit of advice on race. How much do you want to be talking in races? My rowers said they want me talking constantly, but my coach advised not to because the rowers usually end up blocking it out. Also, do you have any calls you find really motivate your crew? I don’t want to just be reciting calls without them meaning anything but then I don’t know what to fill the gaps with. We have had loads of really successful coxes from our club so I’m under lots of pressure to be good! :/ Also, sorry I know this is a lot, but I am 5’3″ and weigh 105lbs, is this too big or heavy for a junior 14s coxie? Thanks a bunch, love this blog!

VOTW: Why losing matters

QOTD: I’m a HS varsity men’s coxswain, but our club spends a lot of time sculling in quads and rowing small boats. As a result, I spend a lot of time sitting on the launch. However, I don’t exactly know what the best way to make use of that time is. Usually I just watch the rowers quietly and mention the occasional technique mistake if I don’t think my coach sees it, but I’m not really sure what the protocol is. Should I tell the rowers directly if I’m seeing something off? Should I try to talk to my coach about what lineups I think are working and what aren’t (he very occasionally asks my opinion on who should get seat raced and stuff like that)? Or is it better to just watch and note what’s going on so I can use it when we do row coxed boats?

FOUR YEARS AGO
QOTD: As a novice coxswain, I find it hard to ask for more of the rowers. I feel like I can’t push them other than asking them to stay at their stroke rate. All I say is, “great job,” “beautiful” “catch them” and other things about proving ourselves. How can I remedy this?

QOTD: Should I make corrections to my point (using bow pair) while the coach is speaking? I always feel rude but the boat sometimes drifts off!

QOTD: How do coxswains come up with a “signature call?” Any tips? Do you have one?

Blood in the Water

Words.

Thoughts?

