Flashback Friday: April 9th – 22nd

ONE YEAR AGO
VOTW: Technology + Rowing

Coxswain skills: Working with a bad coach

QOTD: Hi!! So what should you do if you think a teammate doesn’t like you? All I’ve been getting is bad vibes, and whenever I try to be nice and talkative she just like doesn’t even listen. I really don’t wanna start something, but all I have been is nice to her! I can deal if she doesn’t like me, but man I don’t want that to affect the boat you know? And it hasn’t except for sorta today maybe? Not exactly sure but just wanted tips on how to deal/work your way around if someone may not like you for no reason at all. I might be viewed as competition but I have NEVER said anything hateful, rude, or bad to her at all. I keep my mouth shut at the right times and I am a very laughable, comfortable, relaxed person to talk too. In the conversations we have had (only a few), she’s barely said anything and I just end up not getting an answer. And she gives off really, really dirty looks to me. She seems like thats her face, but she likes some other girls on the team real well so I’m not sure … I don’t wanna push it because I got bigger, better problems to attend too but just kinda putting this out there.

Race skills: Race warmups

Pro tip: Maintaining the set when you’re on the rudder

TWO YEARS AGO
Seat racing coxswains

Reverse pick drill progression + what “bob drills” look like

VOTW: Inside the minds of champion athletes

How to: Scull your bow around

Words.

THREE YEARS AGO
Words.

Coxswain recordings, pt. 11

QOTD: Hey! Lately, I haven’t been getting boated much during practices and have only been boated for one race. Some of our assistant coaches have claimed that I’m better than the other coxswain and that it’s become more of a matter of favorites. Any tips on how I can show the head coaches that I want to be boated for races, especially with one more race plus Pac-12s coming up? I don’t know what else to do other than prove myself each time I’m on the water (which isn’t often) and going over recordings with our coach once I’m back on the water.

FOUR YEARS AGO
QOTD: How does a cox/rower know when/if it’s time to quit crew? Especially as a collegiate walk on. I want to make it the four years, but…

QOTD: I’m a collegiate rower. I have excellent technique except for one thing – I don’t catch quickly enough. I am in time with the rest of the boat, but it’s the issue of going straight to the water and burying my blade completely before driving with my legs. Most of our boat has this issue. I’ve tried asking coaches how to remedy my issue, but they haven’t given me anything very effective yet. Do you have any advice? Please and thank you! I appreciate it.

What to wear: Coxing in the rain

QOTD: I honestly have no idea how to know how many strokes until we finish a race, piece, etc. Like, do I just guess?

QOTD: I keep overly saying “sorry” in the boat, even when I don’t need to. Any tips on how to stop?

Thoughts?

