Flashback Friday: January 29th – February 11th

ONE YEAR AGO
VOTW: A Fine Balance – Highly recommend watching this if you’ve never seen it.

Coxswain evaluations 2.0 If you’re looking for a coxswain eval to use with your team, this is the one I use with ours. There’s a link to a Google Doc of the eval included in this post if you want to save a copy for yourself.

Coxswain skills: How to handle a negative coxswain eval

Top 20 terms coxswains should know: Ratio

QOTD: Hi! So I am in my fourth season of crew, and my second season of coxing. Our season started Monday and the novices were already on the water. I was not with either of the novice boats that day but I coxed one today. I found it really difficult to teach them everything. Do you have any advice on how to teach the novices? Also, our first race is in 4 or 5 weeks, so the novices need to get the hang of it as soon as possible so that we can get “normal” boats put together. My boat today was able to row all 8 (6 novices and a 2nd season rower and stroke) fairly well. Any and all advice would be super helpful. Thanks so much!!! I love your blog- I’ve used it since I started rowing.

TWO YEARS AGO
VOTW: Y150 History

Words.

QOTD: Hi I am a rower who recently developed some unknown sickness which long story short means I cannot do any workouts of value and am losing speed by the second. I’ve always been a top rower on my team and trained really hard to stay there. I’ve never been the one on the sidelines and it is really frustrating watching people beat my times and know that I can’t do anything to get better. Basically I’m just wondering if you have any advice on how to not get so upset when I’m watching myself lose all of this training time as I try to figure out what is wrong with me.

THREE YEARS AGO
QOTD: Are there rules about coaches making coxswains weigh in to check their weight? Obviously coxswains need to weigh in at certain regattas to make weight. I remember someone telling me that it was against some rule to have coaches require coxswains to report their weight, but I forget where I heard that/if it is actually true.

QOTD: So as a novice, I’ve been coxing for about 5 months. My learning curve was very fast and I quickly became our top novice coxswain, yet I feel like I’ve hit a plateau. I’m not getting any better yet everyone else is improving faster and my top spots are very threatened right now. How do I get better after hitting a plateau? (btw: We don’t have winter training, we are on water all year round) Thanks!

FOUR YEARS AGO
QOTD: I never want to be THAT coxswain whose rowers zone out and don’t listen. I feel like my rowers look out of the boat a lot and it affects the set and their technique. Do you have any posts/suggestions to make sure I’m on the right path?

QOTD: I still have trouble judging distances [m] any tips?

QOTD: Can you explain the term ‘run’? When a cox says “more run” it’s referring to the length and lay back of the recovery and such, correct?

How to: Call a Pick Drill (and Reverse Pick Drill)

An introduction to rigging: Spread and span

