Flashback Friday: December 17th – 31st

Thanks for another great year everyone! Each year I’ve done this blog it’s gotten more and more fun and I’m really pumped for what’s to come in 2017. Happy new year!

ONE YEAR AGO
Words.

Top 20 terms coxswains should know: Lunge

College recruiting: (More) Questions to ask coaches

VOTW: Hard strokes on the erg

TWO YEARS AGO
Words.

VOTW: “Do GoPros have audio?” “Yea.” “Uh oh.”

THREE YEARS AGO
VOTW: Yale men’s 8+ at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics

QOTD: Hello Kayleigh! I was wondering how you view the relationship of a coxswain to rowers. My main problem is that I’m friends with a lot of rowers I cox and I don’t want to lose them as friends, but I also want there to be mutual respect. How do you deal with this? Thanks! AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!

Words.

FOUR YEARS AGO
QOTD: How hard is it to just start rowing in college, especially at a D1 or Ivy League school?

QOTD: I’m 5’2 and weigh 153lbs. I can pull 1:58/500 m for a 30 minute test. I’ve been trying to lose weight but the nutritionist has essentially told me that my only option is to lose muscle (because of weight) or actually get bone removed through surgery (which I think is against NCAA rules). I was a walk-on to the crew team and want to row or cox but I have no idea what to do. My coach has told me I would make an excellent cox but I don’t know how to lose weight/approach this situation. Thank you!

QOTD: So I’m going to begin coxing this coming spring season, and I am constantly reading about experienced coxes getting annoyed with the newbies. Any recommendations for things I should do to avoid pissing everyone off?

QOTD: Hey, I was wondering if you have any advice on oar painting. In the past all our team has done is just use regular spray paint over the old cracked paint job (obviously a mistake), but our coach has put me in charge of the repainting this year and I want to do it right. I’ve stared working on sanding down the blades but am unsure how to go about painting. Should we just use regular spray paint with a protective finish? I’ve read that some people use automotive paint.

QOTD: Hi! I was looking at this past question from back in October. I know I do this too but, I watched the video and I don’t know if I do the shooting the slide thing but I do get pain in my lower back after longer rowing sessions. I don’t understand how to fix the problem unless I am in a single. My coaches mentioned placing the oars, then waiting to feel something to ‘grip’ on to then take the stroke. How am I meant to apply this in a boat?

Thoughts?

