Flashback Friday: December 4th – 17th

ONE YEAR AGO
Top 20 terms coxswains should know: Pin

Words.

College recruiting: The process of being recruited as a coxswain, pt. 2 This post includes some tips regarding submitting your audio to college coaches.

QOTD: Hi – Our rowing club in LA is having all sorts of coxbox/wiring issues lately. Weird thing is it’s in different boats and different boxes so I’m wondering if it could be something global like weather. Now, we don’t get that cold compared to other regions but we do row all year and last 3 weeks its been in the upper 40’s/lower 50’s in the early morning. The main symptoms are very low volume throughout the boat or intermittency – all speakers cutting out in middle of row. We did try at least two microphones in one boat this morning. Any ideas??

TWO YEARS AGO
Coxswain evaluations + how I organize them A must-read if you’re trying to figure out how to implement evals on your team (from creating them to actually going over the results wit the coxswains).

VOTW: Rowing days at Harvard

Words.

THREE YEARS AGO
QOTD: Our team (high school varsity men) has two captains, me (the coxswain) and “Jim”, one of the fastest heavyweights. Our coach has a full-time job in addition to coaching us so a lot of the responsibility falls on the captains. I know that I was elected mostly based on my organizational abilities and so I expected to assume a lot of the work on that end, but Jim has barely done anything all year. I have to organize every captain’s practice and outside workout, even though I’m just a coxswain and honestly don’t know too much about weightlifting or whatever (Jim told me he would once but backed out at the last minute) and I’m always the one who has to manage everything at regattas, events, etc. The only exceptions are “fun” activities – gingerbread house, laser tag, team t-shirts are the only things he’s managed himself. His attendance is pretty mediocre too, which really undercuts the message our coach and I are trying to promote about good attendance and hard work at every practice. I’m exhausted trying to juggle it all but I worry that if I don’t do everything myself it simply won’t get done. What could I say to him so that he’ll step up a little and take some of the pressure off? As far as I can tell he doesn’t think he’s doing anything wrong.

Music to erg to, pt. 20

Coxswain recordings pt. 10 These recordings are from the Down & Dirty Coxing CD, which includes ones from Mary Whipple and a couple of collegiate coxswains from Ohio State and UVA.

QOTD: Now that we’re deep into our winter training schedule, we’ve started rowing longer sets of things. My coach doesn’t call them “pieces” or anything but we’ll be rowing and doing drills and then he sends us off and is like “take it all 8 to X-bridge”. I never know how to cox that, it’s ~3k so do I cox it as a long piece or just like technique-y practice type stuff? The other two coxswains I go out with call 10’s and I do sometimes but not as often as they do. Should I ask my coach what he wants?

FOUR YEARS AGO
How to steer an eight or four This post is all about the basics of the basics when it comes to steering. If you’re a novice or know someone who’s planning to start coxing in the spring, check this post out.

Words.

QOTD: I am in my 3rd year coxing and I’m fighting for the JV boat with another girl who is in the same grade as me. I was really, really bad my novice year and wasn’t really good until now. I really want to beat her so I asked some rowers what I could do better and they said that people respect her more, and that she is more authoritative. But the thing is when I try to be authoritative people just think I’m a bitch because I’m normally really friendly and nice. How do I earn their respect?

QOTD: How do you stop competition over erg times from ruining a friendship?

QOTD: How do you fight off the stress of rowing? I can’t just stop because it helps me ease school stuff but at the same time it makes everything pile up and I can’t hold everything in anymore.

Thoughts?

